Childhood

I was born in the early 1960s on the Navajo Indian reservation in Arizona. Despite moving away as a toddler, my family has maintained a strong relationship with the extended family that we became close to at the time. Living in New Mexico now means that I’m able to visit with them on holidays. As anglos, we are honored to have been brought into many of their private and normally Navajo-only ceremonies and celebrations through the years.

In the late 1960s, we moved to Taiwan, where my dad worked as a plant pathologist. I was a hyperactive child, running around the marketplaces and dodging the hands of Taiwanese who couldn’t resist touching the blond hair of this wild American. I even learned Mandarin Chinese at the local public schools I attended during 1st and 2nd grade. Sadly, I did not retain those bilingual skills, despite my attempts years later to relearn them.

Upon return to the U.S. in 1970, I suddenly found myself a Midwesterner, spending my entire childhood in central Illinois. It was here that I played baseball and football in my back yard, learned how to shoot a .22, built a go-cart, tortured G.I. Joe dolls, raced Hot Wheels, and learned how to ride a bike (and later learning how to break bones while jumping bikes over ramps). I also discovered late night monster and sci-fi movies, animal skulls/bones, and girls (…only the geeky girls seemed interested in me for some reason…).

Teenager

At 13, we moved to northern New Jersey. It was somewhat traumatic for me socially, since I had to leave a lot of good friends I had made in Illinois, but it wasn’t long before I made a new group of friends. Unfortunately, after just a couple of years we decided to move to the West African country of Liberia, after a short stay in Colorado where we waited months for our visas to be approved.

Even though our time in coastal Africa was cut short by an inconvenient coup d’etat, I came of age in the discotheques, smoking weed and drinking local beer with the many international friends I made there. It was Liberia where I also learned to smoke cigarettes, ride motorcycles, drive cars, shoot a shotgun, and surf the shark and riptide-infested waters of equatorial Atlantic Ocean. I really miss surfing! Coming back to a relatively boring New Jersey was a bit of a shock, as I had changed quite a bit during my absence. I was treated more like an adult in Liberia, but I was expected to be a teenager in the U.S.

We soon moved to central New Jersey, where I (barely) finished my last year of High School. After nearly destroying my life with some pretty hard drugs, I finally got my life together and began a career torturing animals for a local biotech lab.

Adult

I eventually married one of my co-workers from that lab and the following six years found me moving from biotech to computers, as the personal computer industry was beginning to explode. My exciting business selling multimedia computer products was soon buried, however, when G.H.W. Bush invaded Iraq and people stopped buying expensive toys for their computers. The recession wasn’t the only thing to change my life, as my marriage failed and I eventually ended up working for a small continuing education company, where I set up and maintained their mobile computer classrooms.

Changes in latitudes brought changes in attitudes and I soon found myself in both the tropical embrace of Florida breezes and the tickling embrace of a new love, who was as geeky and nerdy as I was. We discovered each other through our mutual fandom of Mystery Science Theater 3000 (MST3K), long before it was normal to meet people on the internet.

It was in Florida where I hit the depths of professional depravity, working for both the military industrial complex and performing biological torture of university lab animals. However, my soon-to-be new wife eventually earned her degree in Chemical Engineering and that took me to an all new direction.

That direction was West; when a large semi-conductor firm hired her, we moved to Albuquerque. This was nice because my parents had recently retired in nearby Santa Fe. It was only a few years later, however, that they transferred her to the Phoenix valley. Living near Phoenix was brutal, climatologically, but we made some very good friends and we re-discovered the Society for Creative Anachronisms (SCA).

A couple of job changes later, we were in the politically brutal climate of South Carolina. While we enjoyed being in humidity again, the stifling right-wing attitudes did not make our near-destitute level of unemployment any more tolerable, as my wife found herself the victim of layoffs. While I was there, however, I was able to write my book and find a publisher who was willing to produce it. Unfortunately, writing doesn’t pay the bills and it wasn’t long before we decided to return to New Mexico, especially since my aging parents were now in need of help.

Now

Currently, I’m busy writing, working as a background actor, giving lectures about my work as a vivisectionist, and I recently volunteered to be the Arts and Sciences Minister for our local SCA group. We have 8 rescued cats (down from 12), an old dog (also rescued), and even though the winters aren’t as pleasant as they were in Florida, we are very happy to be in the Land of Enchantment. Stay tuned for the next chapter!


Professional & Educational Experience

My career and educational “path” looks more like a multi-pronged fork in the road than a straight journey, but that merely means my experiences are broad and varied!

Want to hire me? Contact me and request my Curriculum Vitae.

Computer Technology / Business

Stuff to be written goes here.

Biology

Stuff to be written goes here.

Anthropology / Zooarchaeology

Stuff to be written goes here.

Writing / Acting

(visit appropriate section)

Want to hire me? Request my Curriculum Vitae

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail